The American Association of Women Dentists recently awarded Mary Beth AichelmannReidy, DDS, with the Lucy Hobbs Taylor Award, the organization’s top honor. Dr. Aichelmann-Reidy is currently Division Chief of Periodontics in the Department of Advanced Oral Sciences and Therapeutics at the University of Maryland School of Dentistry and resides in Ellicott City, Maryland, with her family. She is embedded in periodontal education, directing pre-doctoral and postgraduate courses in periodontics, and she mentors periodontics resident research projects. Dr. Reidy has been recognized for her role in education as a recipient of the 2018 AmericanAAWD_Chronicle_2019_Issue 2 Aug 2 Draft8Academy of Periodontology Educator Award, for outstanding teaching and mentoring in periodontics. She maintains a practice specializing in periodontology and implant surgery at the University of Maryland Faculty Dental Practice. Dr. Reidy obtained her dental degree with honors from the State University of New York at Stony Brook in 1987 and was inducted into Omicron Kappa Upsilon, the national dental honor society. In 1989 she completed her certificate in periodontics at the University of Pittsburgh. She is board certified as a Diplomate of the American Board of Periodontology and has served as a director on this board since 2015 and is currently the co-vice chair.
Furthermore, Dr. Reidy is recognized as a Diplomate and Fellow of the International Congress of Oral Implantologists and a Fellow of the American College of Dentists. In addition to her role as an educator and researcher in periodontics and implant dentistry, she has represented women in dentistry and served on the board of the American Association of Women Dentists between 2003 through 2014. In 2013 she was president of the organization. Dr. Reidy has long been committed to mentoring women students and advocating the role of women in dentistry, serving in a variety of national roles, such as on the Women’s Affairs Advisory Committee of the American Dental Education Association, and as a women’s liaison officer. As the faculty advisor to the student chapter of AAWD at the University of Maryland, Dr. Reidy has mentored women dental students and guided the development of the first national program of student-based donated dental care for women, Smiles for Success, at the university. On the board of directors of the Smiles for Success Foundation since 2004, she has developed the national student chapter program and is currently serving as vice president and the director of student chapter programs of Smiles for Success. She is continuing this effort by running a dental clinic at the University of Maryland, mentoring women dental students to communicate and coordinate dental care with case managers from community centers to help uninsured women in the community of Baltimore and Prince Georges County, Maryland, who are seeking independence. AAWD President Dr. Brittany Bergeron states, “I am honored to present Dr. Reidy with this award. She has been mentoring students and women in our organization for years, and I cannot think of a more deserving candidate.” The Lucy Hobbs Taylor Award is the highest honor given by the AAWD. The organization presents this award to a member who exemplifies a true professional with accomplishment in one or more areas of dentistry, organized dentistry, academia, government, anthropology, archeology, philanthropy and consulting. Plan to celebrate with Dr. Reidy during the AAWD 98th Annual Conference, September 26-29, in Phoenix, Arizona.