Nominations are now open for the AAWD 2021 Lucy Hobbs Taylor Award. In honor of Dr. Lucy Hobbs Taylor, the first woman to earn a doctorate in dentistry, the American Association of Women Dentists has presented the Lucy Hobbs Taylor Award for many years to an AAWD member who:

    • Is a willing example of a true professional and one who has a record of accomplishment in one or more areas of dentistry [for example, clinical dentistry (including fields of specialization), organized dentistry, academia, government, anthropology, archeology, philanthropy (includes community involvement), and consulting (for example, to the insurance industry)].
    • Has a record of at least 10 years membership in AAWD to include current membership, as verified by AAWD. (The AAWD membership must be stated on the resumé or CV with the exact years being claimed. AAWD Board of Directors are not eligible for the LHT Award unless it has been two years since they served on the AAWD Board of Directors.)
    • Has had a career as a licensed dentist for at least 20 years as stated on the resumé/CV to include jurisdiction and the exact years being claimed.
    • Has a record of mentoring women dentists and/or service to organizations that further the cause of women in dentistry.



The Lucy Hobbs Taylor Award is the highest award given by our organization. This award will be presented during the AAWD’s Annual Conference in 2022. Please click on the link below to see instructions for nominating an outstanding candidate and submit all your paperwork to the National Office by June 30, 2021.

If you have any questions, please email awards@aawd.org or call the national office at (800)920-2293.