The American Association of Women Dentists Awards Sharon Crane Siegel, DDS, MS, 2015 Lucy Hobbs Taylor Award The American Association of Women Dentists is proud to announce the Recipient of the prestigious 2015 Lucy Hobbs Taylor Award – Dr. Sharon Crane Siegel. According to Dr. Niessen, Dean and Professor at College of Dental Medicine, Nova Southeastern University, “Dr. Siegel’s skills as an accomplished scientist, teacher, clinician and mentor continue to develop where she now serves as one of the leading academic prosthodontists in the country.” Dr. Siegel was the first woman to be appointed as a Section Chair at the NSU College of Dental Medicine. Dr. Siegel is a Diplomat of the International College of Oral Implantologists, holds a Master’s Degree in Oral Biology and a Certificate in Prosthodontics. She is currently enrolled in a Masters of Business Administration program. As an accomplished researcher, Dr. Siegel has published 35 papers in international peer-reviewed journals and presented at many scientific meetings. She has encouraged research interests and guided several doctoral and postdoctoral students’ research projects to completion. Dr. Siegel is the recipient of the 2009 cDaniel College Alumni Professional Achievement Award. She is the co-inventor of a dental device used to stabilize dental casts. Dr. Siegel’s is a Fellow in the Academy of General Dentistry and of the American college of Dentists. She serves on the Research Committee of the American College of Prosthodontists and the Clinical Reports Section Editor of the Journal of Prosthodontics. Her other volunteer activities include serving as a Chair of the Section on Prothodontics of the Council of Section of ADEA and as Chair for the Annual Session Program Committee of ADEA. She has served as the President of the Supreme Chapter of OKU and as the President of the Chi Psi Chapter at NSU and the Phi Chapter of Omicron Kappa Upsilon at University of Maryland. Dr. Sharon Siegel has had a long standing commitment to AAWD. She has been the faculty mentor to the AAWD student groups at both University of Maryland College of Dentistry and NSU. Dr. Siegel has served on the Gillette Hayden Foundation Advisory Board and as Chair of Corporate Round Table and Seal of Approval. Dr. Sharon Siegel is an accomplished scientist, teacher clinician and mentor and a role model for the young women growing up in the dental profession today. She truly is an inspiration to us all. The Lucy Hobbs Taylor Award is AAWD’s highest honor and recognizes significant service to dentistry on the basis of achievement in civic, cultural, humanitarian and academic areas. It honors women who promote a positive image for women in dentistry and those who help to advance AAWD’s mission to be the recognized resource for connecting and enriching lives of women dentists.

Dr. Sharon Siegel will receive her award during the AAWD’s Annual Meeting & Award Banquet on Friday,
November 6, 2015 at Walter Washington Convention Center in Washington D.C.

View/Download PDF